Baseball Hall of Fame- Pyramid- Catchers

In other posts I have discussed the Bill James Pyramid idea for the Baseball Hall of Fame. Level 1 would be entry level- the border line Hall of Famers. You would work your way up to the top where only the greatest of the great would be. I like this way of separating the Hall of Famers. I wish the Hall of Fame would do this. They never will. For the past couple days I have been studying the catchers.  Here are the catchers who in my opinion are Hall of Famers {Anyone already in the Hall of Fame stays- I will add some players currently not in the Hall of Fame who I think should be-usually they would be Level 1 Hall of Famers. Anyone retired is eligible. Each position won’t resemble a pyramid-the total players at the end will. {outside of the pyramid will be a separate wing for contributors, the majority of negro league hall of famers and players from before 1890}

Here are the catchers- 23 total.

Level 1- Ray Schalk, Ernie Lombardi, Rick Ferrell, Buck Ewing, Roger Bresnahan, Thurman Munson, Lance Parrish, Bill Freehan,  Jorge Posada, Elston Howard

Level 2-Joe Torre, Gabby Hartnett, Gary Carter, Ted Simmons

Level 3-Bill Dickey,Carlton Fisk, Mickey Cochrane, Pudge Rodriguez, Mike Piazza, Roy Campanella

Level 4-Yogi Berra, Johnny Bench

Level 5-Josh Gibson [picture below}

2 responses to “Baseball Hall of Fame- Pyramid- Catchers

Comments are closed.